First Dota 2 Major of 2021 announced with return to LAN

Dota 2 Singapore Major

First Dota 2 Major of 2021 announced with return to LAN

A new Dota Pro Circuit (DPC) season kicked off in January with Season 1 running until 28 February 2021. At the end of every season, we already know there will be a Dota 2 Major, and now, the first Major of the year has been announced, signalling a return to LAN.

Dota 2 Singapore Major

The first Dota 2 Major in 2021 is called Singapore Major, from One Esports and presented by PGL. This Major will be the first Dota 2 tournament to return to a LAN environment after the COVID-19 pandemic forced everything online. A short post from One Esports announced this great news for Dota 2 esports fans.

One Esports announces:

“The ONE Esports Dota 2 Singapore Major Presented by PGL is set to be the first Major of the Dota Pro Circuit 2021. It will also be the first-ever major broadcast in glorious 4K 60 fps!”

The Major will take place from 27 March to 4 April 2021. An exact venue has not been announced. The prize pool for the Dota 2 Singapore Major is $500,000. At the current Dollar to Rand exchange rate, that’s roughly R7.4 million. There’s also 2,700 DPC points up for grabs.

A total of 18 teams from across the globe will compete in the Dota 2 Singapore Major. The teams still need to be determined based on their DPC Season 1 standings.

Teams will be determined as follows:
  • EU: Top 4
  • China: Top 4
  • SEA: Top 3
  • CIS: Top 3
  • NA: Top 2
  • SA: Top 2

These slots will be handed to the teams who place in the top of their DPC logs in their respective region. This is such great news for Dota 2 esports fans and teams, as we will finally get to see the top teams in the world compete on LAN once again, so mark those calendars.

Header image via Valve.

Related Posts

ESC Podcast S02E15: FortniteZA Discussion with Neymar & OomKoncept