Quick Hit: FACEIT London CS:GO Major teams confirmed

Michael 'axtremes' Harmse

In our series Quick Hit, axtremes drops his opinion with lightning speed while his hat overlords aren’t looking.


All 24 teams for the forthcoming FACEIT London CS:GO Major starting on September 5 are confirmed. The four FACEIT Minor tournaments for Asia, the Americas, CIS and Europe confirmed the participants.

How worketh it?

In case you’re not familiar with the format, since the previous Eleague Boston Major, the Valve-funded tournament introduced the New Challengers Stage. This effectively functions as a substitute for the old Major Qualifier in which 16 teams duke it out for eight spots at the Major. This year that has been incorporated into the Major itself, making it effectively a 24 team Major, rather than 16 as in past years. All 24 teams also get their own stickers in the game, meaning they get to make some significant extra money from sticker sales. That’s a big deal for some of the smaller orgs. Still, in my and most pundits estimation, the real Major only actually starts after the New Challengers Stage is completed and we head into the New Legends Stage.

Who made it to New Challengers?

  • Gambit
  • Space Soldiers
  • Astralis
  • North
  • Rogue
  • HellRaisers
  • TyLoo
  • OpTic
  • Vega Squadron
  • BIG
  • Liquid
  • compLexity
  • Spirit
  • Renegades
  • NiP

A thought or two

It’s a real shame that the European Minor is as stacked as it is compared to the other regions. ENCE are better than many of the teams that made it through the other regions’ Minors. They’re better than Winstrike (formerly QBF) who got the easiest draw of all time in the previous Major and somehow found themselves sealing a Legends spot in the top eight. They and the USA’s NRG are probably the two most notable teams to miss out on the Major.

The Legends

  • Cloud9
  • Natus Vincere
  • mousesports
  • G2
  • FaZe
  • MIBR
  • Winstrike
  • Fnatic