DreamLeague Season 22 viewer’s guide

Dota 2 ringmaster

DreamLeague Season 22 viewer’s guide

Dota 2 esports fans are in for a treat! Starting this Sunday, 25 February 2024, the DreamLeague Season 22 event will begin, running well into March and offering some top-tier action. Here’s what you need to know so you don’t miss out on any great Dota 2 esports.

DreamLeague Season 22 details

DreamLeague Season 22 starts on 25 February and runs until 10 March 2024, when a champion will be crowned. This is one of the only S-Tier online Dota 2 events, with most of the biggest tournaments instead taking place on LAN.

16 of the best teams in the world are competing for their share of the $1 million prize pool and 18,550 EPT Points. At the current Dollar to Rand exchange rate, that’s roughly R19 million.

Teams competing:
  • Gaimin Gladiators
  • BetBoom Team
  • Xtreme Gaming
  • Team Liquid
  • Heroic
  • Shopify Rebellion
  • Team Falcons
  • Aurora
  • G2.iG
  • Azure Ray
  • 1win
  • Virtus.pro
  • Team Spirit
  • Team Secret
  • Tundra Esports
  • OG

DreamLeague Season 22 features not one but two Group Stages. The first sees two groups of eight teams compete in a single Round-Robin format, where the top four teams from each group make it to the second Group Stage. In the second Group Stage, there’s one single Round-Robin format group with all eight remaining teams. The top four teams from this second Group Stage make it to the playoffs, with the top two going to the upper bracket, and the 3rd and 4th teams making it to the lower bracket.

In the playoffs of DreamLeague Season 22, all matches are best-of-three, except the grand final, which is best-of-five, with no upper bracket advantage.

This is an online event played on the Europe West server. Since DreamLeague Season 22 is based in Europe, it should be nice watch times for South Africans. You can watch the stream on the ESL Dota 2 Twitch channel when matches start each day.

Header image via Valve.

Related Posts

Your Week In Gaming Podcast, S1 E15 (28 July 2023)